Blair County Commissioner Barry Wright voted out of office

After the results from yesterday’s primary election were reported, it is obvious the makeup of the Blair County Board of Commissioners will be different.
With current Commissioner Terry Wagner appointed to the board to complete the term of John Eichelberger making it clear that he would not run for a term of his own, there was a lengthily list of people pursuing a seat on the Blair County Board of Commissioners.
However, the other two current county commissioners, Donna Gority and Barry W. Wright were seeking re-election to the board.
Only one of the current county commissioners have a chance to retain their seat on the board after yesterday’s election.
On the Democratic ballot, there were four candidates for the office of Blair County Commissioner. The top vote getter was current and veteran County Commissioner Donna Gority, who is one of two Democrats to move on to the November general election. Also on the Democratic Ballot on November will be JoAnn Nardelli, the longtime President of Newry Borough Council. The results including the number of votes and percent of votes from the Democratic ballot are as follows: Donna Gority – 2,935 votes – 29.89 percent; JoAnn Nardelli – 2,814 – 28.60 percent; Rod Bohner – 2,554 – 22.95 percent and Rich Thomas – 1,643 – 16.73 percent.
On the Republican ballot, there was a surprise when results were reported. Current County Commissioner Barry W. Wright, the Chairman of the Blair County Commissioners, will not advance to the November general election. In fact, Wright finished fourth in a group of seven Republican candidates for county commissioner. The top vote getter on the Republican side was Altoona area Attorney Terry Tomasetti. Also joining him on the Republican ballot in the November election will be Diane Meling, the former Logan Township Supervisor and Hollidaysburg Borough Manager. The results, including the number of votes and percent of votes, on the Republican ballot are as follows: Terry Tomasetti – 9,351 votes – 36.23 percent; Diane Meling – 4,596 – 17.81 percent; Bobbi Ellenberger Yoder – 4,277 – 16.57 percent; Barry W. Wright – 4,046 – 15.68 percent; William C. Fink – 1,275 – 4.94 percent; James Baldwin – 1,243 – 4.82 percent and Thomas Morgan – 931 – 3.61 percent.
In November’s general election, of the list of candidates that include Gority, Nardelli, Meling, and Tomasetti, the three candidates with the highest number of votes will become the next Blair County Commissioners.