News Tyrone Daily Herald Archives

TASB approves lengthy list of new hires, transfers and resignations

The Tyrone Area School Board held a regular session before last night’s August work session to officially approve new hires within the district, along with job transfers and resignations.
The board approved athletic resignations from Jaime Miller as Girls’ Assistant Volleyball Coach, William Dubler as Junior High Wrestling Coach, Tommie Murray as Girls’ Assistant Soccer Coach, Todd E. Templeton as Junior High Assistant Football Coach, Mark Mitchell as Boys’ Varsity Assistant Basketball Coach and Varsity Assistant Track Coach, Lois Loncher as Girls’ Varsity Head Softball Coach, and Lucas Rhoades as Junior High Assistant Football Coach.
All of the resignations were accepted with permission to be placed on the volunteer list, excluding Templeton, Mitchell and Loncher.
Athletic hires included: Matt Genchur as Boys’ Varsity Assistant Soccer Coach at the stipend of $1,050, and Nathan Verilla as Junior High Assistant Football Coach at the stipend of $1,100.
School board members approved district staff resignations from elementary teacher Kendra Pritchett, Special Education Paraprofessional Karen DeHaas, HVAC Technician Joseph Neary II, High School Dean of Students Mark Mitchell, and Title I Paraprofessional Pamela Bradley.
District job transfers that were approved by the school board consisted of Lillian Miller from Title 1 K4 teacher to Pre-K Counts K3 teacher, Shana Smith from Kindergarten teacher to Title 1 K4 teacher, Shannon Neumann from Grade 3 teacher to Kindergarten teacher, Michael McKee from Elementary Dean of Students to High School Dean of Students, and Kendra Wilkins from Title 1 Paraprofessional to K3 PreK Counts Paraprofessional.
Board members elected Tracy Lynne Gibbs as Middle/High School Family and Consumer Science teacher at the salary of $37,418; Irvin E. Fink, Jr. as Elementary/Grade 4 teacher at the salary of $34,118; Amanda Bryan as Elementary/Grade 3 teacher at the salary of $34,118; and Cheryl McMillan as full-time Elementary Dean of Students at the additional stipend of $5,000 for the 2008-09 school year.
Other personnel items approved by the board for Special Service Fee positions included: Steve Everhart as PSSA K-12 Reading/Writing Coordinator at $5,000; Francis Bloom as PSSA K-12 Math Coordinator at $5,000; Kristen Pinter as PSSA K-12 Gifted Coordinator at $2,000; Susan Orlosky as Fifth Grade Chairperson at $1,243.81; Lucas Rhoades as Grade 8 Team Leader at $621.89; Mark Murphy as Fine Arts Department Chairperson at $1,213.81; Jessica Hetrick as Middle School Yearbook Advisor at $515; Jennifer Rhoades as Grade 2 Grade-Level Chairperson at $1,243.81; Barbara Elder as Grade 3 Grade-Level Chairperson at $1,243.81; Shelly Toto as Grade 4 Grade-Level Chairperson at $1,243.81; and Brittany Bettwy as Drama Co-Director/Spring Musical Play at $1,243.81 and Senior High Choral Director at $2,859.99.
Former Tyrone elementary teacher, coach, and High School Dean of Students, Mark Mitchell, was hired recently as Claysburg-Kimmel High School’s principal.