News Tyrone Daily Herald Archives

TACO Award Recipients

Recipients of special awards presented at Tyrone Area Community Organization’s Charter Night dinner held Saturday include, seated, from left: Fred Miller, recipient of the Betty F. Simpson Distinguished Service Award; Morris Levine was presented TACO’s Humanitarian Award and Gina Montgomery accepted the Boss of the Year award for Theresa Zurilla who is a franchise owner of Home Instead Senior Care which provides non-medical home care for the elderly. Back row: TAHS seniors Randy J. Hoover, Sarah Elizabeth Cox, Elizabeth Romano and Brock Anders were all recipients of  $500 to help further their education, and Vicki Brower who nominated Zurilla for her award. TACO’s incoming officers include: Ruth Brower, president; Dave Kaup, vice president; Ann Brower, secretary; Jeanne Price, treasurer and directors Bob Grager and Melvin Rhine. Benevolence director is Shelly Hanczar and PR/advertising director is Jessica Decoste. The 18th year Charter Night event was held at the Warriors Mark Fire Hall. (The Daily Herald/Virgie Werner)