Sports Tyrone Daily Herald Archives

2007-08 Award winners

The Tyrone Area Basketball Boosters Club held their annual Recognition Banquet on Saturday, April 26, 2008 to honor the junior high, junior varsity and varsity boys and girls basketball teams and coaches. Those who were honored with awards included first row (from left to right): Ross Black-Junior Varsity Defensive Player of the Year, Rachel Emigh-Girls Varsity Most Valuable Player, Johnny Franco, Kassie Faretta-Girls Varsity Best Defensive Player, Brandon Gehret-Boys Varsity Best Defensive Player, and Mara Hawes-Girls Varsity Most Improved Player and Girls Junior Varsity Most Valuable Player. Second row: Andy Brokenshire-Boys Junior Varsity Offensive Player of the Year, Travis Peterman, Steve Catich- Boys Varsity Most Valuable Player, Matt Murray-Boys Junior Varsity Most Improved Player, Nathan Dane, and Kyle Updyke. Missing from the photo, include Carly Ray-Girls Junior Varsity Coaches Award, Charlene Adams-Girls Junior Varsity Most Improved Player, Jordan Faretta-Junior High Boys Adversity Award, Jared Templeton- Boys Junior High Most Improved Player Award, Derrick Emigh-Boys Junior High Attitude Award, and Trevor Jackson-Will to Win Award. (The Daily Herald/Bob Miller)