Sports Tyrone Daily Herald Archives

Garbinsky, Schopp in semifinals

Riding tight Tyrone freshman Ronnie Garbinsky maintains control over Keith Cornman of Kittaning, in the opening round of the Southwest Regional Wrestling Tournament at the Cambria County War Memorial on Friday, in Johnstown. Garbinsky won by fall and will wrestle in this morning’s semifinals at 11 a.m. (The Daily Herald/Courtesy Ryan Spring, Bedford Gazette)

Tyrone super lightweights Ronnie Garbinsky and A.J. Schopp will open the morning action at the Southwest Regional Wrestling Tournament at the Cambria County War Memorial in Johnstown.
Garbinsky (35-2) opened his Regional by repeating a victory over Keith Cornman of Kittanning. Garbinsky, who had decisioned Cornman 3-1 at the Thomas Tournament, had an 11-4 lead when he pinned Cornman with two seconds left in the match at 103. In the quarterfinals, Garbinsky trailed 2-1, but rallied with a pair of escapes and a takedown in the third period for a 9-6 win over Andrew Lucarini (29-3) of Fort Cherry.
Schopp (35-3), a sophomore, had a bye through the prelims and then used a second-period nearfall and third-period takedown to shut out Jeremy Landowski (32-10) of Burrell, 4-0, at 112.
Shayne Tate (24-10) dropped an 8-5 decision to Ryan Watson (30-6) of Burgettstown to drop into the consolation bracket. There, the Eagle senior shut out Aaron Delano of North Star 3-0, and needed overtime to top P.J. Brett of Bedford 9-7. Tate led Brett 7-5 in regulation, before Brett scored a takedown with five seconds remaining to send it to overtime.
Anthony Romano (30-11) dropped out of the tournament losing two one-point decisions. First to John Mort (30-7) of North Star, 3-2 on a late third-period takedown, and then fell by the same score to Allen Park (28-13) of Mount Pleasant. Both wrestlers recorded a reversal, but the difference proved to be a second-period escape by Park.
This morning the semifinals and consolation quarters will kick off at 11 a.m., consolation semifinals will go at 1:30 p.m., consolation finals for third and fifth place will begin at 5 p.m., with championship finals to follow at 6:30.