Sports Tyrone Daily Herald Archives

Eagle wrestlers turn on power for late run over Penns Valley

Tyrone found themselves trailing 27-18 after the eight weight classes on Thursday evening after making the long trip to Penns Valley High School. Then the Eagles put on a streak that lasted until the lights were turned out for a 52-27 triumph.
After Matt Moore (140) and James Weston (145) had opened the dual with pins for the Golden Eagles, another fall at 171, by Shayne Tate was the only Tyrone scoring until the heavyweights had turned the match over to Tyrone’s super lightweights.
Tyrone’s talented Ronnie Garbinsky (103) and A.J. Schopp (112) each received forfeits once again to get the comeback off and running. The free sixes moved Garbinsky to 7-1 on the season, and Schopp to 9-1.
Chase Weaver (2-1) spotted the first takedown to Ram 119-pounder Orry Corman, but reversed him in the first period and added an escape and takedown of his own, plus three back points in the second stanza, and a takedown and nearfall for five more points in the third to win a 14-2 major decision.
Rob Sellers was leading 7-0 in the second period, when he turned Jacob Bierly for the fall in 3:30, at 125. Sellers (2-3) recorded a takedown and two-point nearfall in the opening period and added a reversal prior to the pin.
At 130, Anthony Romano (7-3) rolled up a takedown and eight back points, on three different sets of nearfalls in the first period, then added a reversal in the second working for the fall over Patrick Whitehill in 3:06.
Cody Weaver set the final score by compiling Tyrone’s sixth fall, decking Drew Zettle in 5:44. The two foes were engaged in a real barn-burner, tied up 6-6 after one period. Weaver drew first blood with a takedown, before getting reversed by Zettle and taken to his back twice for two and two. Cody reversed Zettle and got a couple of back points as well to end the first two minutes even. Weaver (3-3) then took the match over with a second-period reversal and nearfall and added another takedown and nearfall before showing Zettle the lights with just 16 seconds remaining in the match at 135.
Jeremy Barlett (2-4) dropped a 7-3 decision to Ty Corl at 160, and Penns Valley upper weights Doug Mansell pinned Corey Barnhart (0-1) in 4:56, at 215, and Ethan Covalt decked Wayne Dembitsky (0-4) in 0:16 at 285.
Tyrone forfeited at 152, and 189.
Tyrone (2-1) is off over the holidays, until the Zeigler Blair/Huntingdon County Tournament on Jan. 5, at the Altoona Fieldhouse.
The Tyrone junior high took advantage of nine forfeits to post a 75-24 victory over the Penns Valley junior high. Penns Valley picked up a win by pin at 210, where the junior high clash began, but then would be shut out for the next 10 weight classes while the Little Eagles built up a 57-6 advantage to tuck away the dual meet win.
Kirby Lawrence (250), Kaden Hunter (80), Zach Brown (85), Dylan Weston (90), Michael Sleeth (105), Nick Romano (110), Derek Dasher (145), Kyle Ripka (155) and Brandon Parks (165) all picked up wins by forfeit. Tyler Osterhout (100), Andrew Warrender (115), and Christian Getz (122) pinned their opponents.
In the only junior high match that went the entire four and a half minutes, Mark McMonagle (95) won by an 8-1 decision.
Tyrone 52 Penns Valley 27
140 – Matt Moore (T) pinned Mark Strine 1:01
145 – James Weston (T) pinned Kenton Bressler 2:53
152 – Kody Bjalme (PV) won by forfeit
160 – Ty Corl (PV) dec. Jeremy Barlett 7-3
171 – Shayne Tate (T) pinned Armando Abraham 2:33
189 – Eric Herrold (PV) won by forfeit
215 – Doug Mansell (PV) pinned Corey Barnhart 4:56
285 – Ethan Covalt (PV) pinned Wayne Dembitsky 0:16
103 – Ronnie Garbinsky (T) won by forfeit
112 – A.J. Schopp (T) won by forfeit
119 – Chase Weaver (T) maj. dec. Orry Corman 14-2
125 – Rob Sellers (T) pinned Jacob Bierly 3:30
130 – Anthony Romano (T) pinned Patrick Whitehill 3:06
135 – Cody Weaver (T) pinned Drew Zettle 5:44
Junior High
Tyrone 75 Penns Valley 24
210 – Ben Benfer (PV) pinned John Weaver 1:05
250 – Kirby Lawrence (T) won by forfeit
75 – No match
80 – Kaden Hunter (T) won by forfeit
85 – Zach Brown (T) won by forfeit
90 – Dylan Weston (T) won by forfeit
95 – Mark McMonagle (T) dec. Caleb Luse 8-1
100 – Tyler Osterhout (T) pinned Joey McNitt 0:55
105 – Michael Sleeth (T) won by forfeit
110 – Nick Romano (T) won by forfeit
115 – Andrew Warrender (T) pinned T.J. Shawley 2:24
122 – Christian Getz (T) pinned Scott Bayletts 4:27
130 – Nate Brown (PV) pinned Caleb Snyder 4:29
138 – Matthew Swartz (PV) pinned Corbin Nevling-Ray 2:45
145 – Derek Dasher (T) won by forfeit
155 – Kyle Ripka (T) won by forfeit
165 – Brandon Parks (T) won by forfeit
185 – Elliot Dillon (PV) won by forfeit