News Tyrone Daily Herald Archives

Local 2007 election results

Yesterday, voters braved the windy weather to take part in the 2007 general election.
In Blair County, Democrat Donna Gority, Democrat Jo Ann Nardelli, Republican Terry Tomassetti and Republican Diane Meling faced off for a four-year term as Blair County Commissioner.
The votes have been counted, and the three county commissioners are Tomassetti with 14,062 votes, Meling with 10,578 votes, followed by Gority with 9,310 votes.
In Snyder Township, the race was for a six-year term supervisor, with Democrat Ray Rodgers and Republican Robert Nelson on the ballot. Current supervisor Republican Bernie Sherwin ran a write-in campaign.
Nelson pulled away with 292 votes, while Rodgers garnered 84 votes. The write-in votes have yet to be determined.
Tyrone Borough had four, four-year term council seats open. Those voted in were Democrat Jennifer Bryan with 461 votes, Democrat Patricia Stoner with 543 votes, Republican Stephen Hanzir with 602 votes and Republican Mark Kosoglow with 580 votes.
Tyrone Area School District had five, four-year seats to fill, with Reverend Norman E. Huff, Pete Dutrow, Raymond Detwiler, Luther Laird and Lee Stover filling those positions.
Two six-year terms on the Antis Township Board of Supervisors were up for grabs. Current supervisors Robert Hornberger Sr. and Charles W. Taylor were seeking re-election. Hornberger received 945 votes and Taylor received 957 votes to remain on the board.
A two-year term was also open on the Antis Township board. Kenneth Hostler ran unopposed, receiving 969 votes to hold his position as Township supervisor.
Bellwood Borough Council ran into a bit of a dilemma earlier this year when all candidates missed the March 6 deadline to file for candidacy. With four seats open, current council members Eileen “Pinky” Newberry, Christopher Creek and Donald Walker ran successful write-in campaigns in March and were listed on yesterday’s general election ballots.
Newberry received 212 votes and Creek garnered 181 votes to maintain their place on council for another four-year term.
Walker will fill the two-year term on borough council, having received 211 votes.
Bellwood Borough still has one four-year vacancy to fill.
Write-in votes have yet to be determined.
Five positions on the Bellwood-Antis School Board were up for grabs. David A. Worthing received 1,120 votes, Donna Tyler received 1,111 votes, J. Kenneth Loucks have 1,095 votes, Jeff Plummer received 1,070 votes and Rhonda Hocutt had a total of 1,043 votes.
In Huntingdon County, Republican R. Dean Fluke, Republican Bill Hoover and Democrat Connie Kough Pittenger moved through as the county commissioners.