News Tyrone Daily Herald Archives

Allegheny Chorale ready for new season, looking for new members

The Allegheny Chorale is beginning its new season and looking for men and women, including senior high students, who just love to sing.
The Chorale has always been open to anyone who loves to sing, and there are no auditions.
Anyone interested in joining Allegheny Chorale is asked to meet at the chorus room in the Tyrone Area High School on September 11. Practice begins at 7 p.m. and lasts until 9 p.m.
New members will be accepted through September 25.
For additional information, call 684-0516.
The Allegheny Chorale is a group of singers from the Tyrone, Bellwood, Huntingdon and Altoona areas.
The Chorale’s first season was 1985-86, and members celebrated its 20th anniversary during the 2004-05 season. Dr. Joseph W. Figg, who was the director of vocal and choral activities at Juniata College, directed the Chorale from 1985 until 1990 and Laura Harris directed the Chorale from 1990 to 2005 when Debbie Huff Estright took over as director.
Currently the Chorale is accompanied by Anna Myers. Other Chorale accompanists over the years have been Joan Smith, Nora Figg and Sonya DeArmitt. The Chorale has been accompanied by piano, organ, brass ensembles, string ensembles, harp and bell choirs as well.
Each year the Chorale prepares two concert programs, one for December and another for May. Performances take place in Tipton and Tyrone.
In addition to its annual Tyrone and Tipton concerts, the Chorale has performed with the Altoona Symphony and at the Hollidaysburg Presbyterian Church. They also perform portions of concerts for residents at area nursing homes.
Music is selected by a committee of Chorale members. Members of the first music committees included Georgia Roberts, Donna Ray, Margaret Sheridan, Joan Smith and Laura Harris.
The group was re-organized in 1985 by Steve Stoner, Georgia Roberts, Donna Ray and Robert Dawson.
The first board of directors included Dawson, Ray, Roberts, Stoner, Reverend Norman Huff, George Stevens Jr. and Ellen Wallace. The first board of trustees included Deborah Hiller, R. Gerald Roberts and Margaret Sheridan.