TAHS musicians recently inducted as new members of Tri-M Music Honor Society

Recently, 31 students from the Tyrone Area High School Music Department were inducted into the Tri-M Music Honor Society at their annual induction ceremony. Tri-M, which is an abbreviation for Modern Music Masters, is a special organization for students who excel musically, in the classroom, and set an example for their peers.
Guest speaker for the induction ceremony was Mr. Francis Nesta, Director of Choirs at Keystone Jr.-Sr. High School and the incoming President of the Pennsylvania Music Educators Association. Mr. Nesta discussed music advocacy, the value of music education, and the benefits of music.
Two TAHS seniors who have been members of Tri-M Music Honor Society for most of their high school careers performed musical selections during the ceremony. Senior, Josh Shaffer performed a vocal selection and senior, Jenna Dillon performed an instrumental selection on the clarinet. Both plan to further their education in music. Josh recently attended All-State Chorus and plans to major in music at Valley Forge Christian College. Jenna was one of just four clarinet players accepted into the Penn State School of Music.
At each induction ceremony, the Tri-M membership select an individual who exemplifies what Tri-M is all about and presents them with an honorary membership. This year, the membership selected Mr. Thomas Verzella, Instrumental Music Teacher and Band Director at the Tyrone Area Elementary and Middle Schools. Some of the individuals who previously were honored as honorary members of Tri-M were Rev. Norman Huff, Dr. Jerry Zolten, and Dr. Rebecca Erb.
The current members of the Tri-M Music Honor Society were also recognized at this ceremony.
Refreshments were served after the ceremony to honor the 2007 induction class and their families.
2006-07 officers for the Tyrone Area High School chapter of the Tri-M Music Honor Society are President, Alexis Pazmino; Vice President, Jenna Dillon; Secretary, Amber Davis; and Treasurer, Kassie Markel. The Faculty Advisor is Mrs. Catherine Young.