2007 Elks Youth Recognition Banquet held

The annual Elks Youth Recognition Banquet was held Wednesday evening at the Lodge.
Lodge member Gary McGovern acted as the master of ceremonies, and Exalted Ruler Maureen Sneath welcomed guests.
The invocation and benediction was presented by Rev. Norman Huff.
After the meal, several Lodge members presented various awards to the youth of the area.
Steve Lucas announced the Hoop Shoot award recipients, and he was assisted by Lodge member LaMoine Zimmerman. Recipients included; Kari Glass, Katy Leamer, Haley Adams, Nathan Davis, Brandon Drenning and Richard Crabtree. Soccer Shoot award recipients included: Adalee Broadbent, Finnley Christine, Kelsey Emeigh, Brooke Romano, Asher Christine, Stevie Lucas, Kyle Raabe and Grant Gonder.
Ronald Beck introduced the Elks “Students of the Month”, including: Russell Beck, Cory Anderson, Caitlinn Dillon, Jenna Dillon, Wade Branstetter, Sara Boyer, Rachel Maceno, Joshua Shaffer, Jonathan Bishop, Alexis Pazmino, Philip Kreckel, Brooke Luke, Megan Turiano, Jordan DelBaggio, Elizabeth Tepsic, James Updike, Michael Romano and Daniel Stover.
Charles O’Rourke announced the Elks scholarship recipients, including Russell Beck who received the Ellenberger Scholarship and Joshua Harkins and Daniel Lersch who each received the Elks National Foundation Scholarship.
Brian Bressler announced the Eagle Scouts, including Daniel Stover, Joshua Clancy, Tyler Thompson, Christopher Kirkpatrick, Zac Yeaton and John Barlett, Jr.
Dr. William Miller announced the Educator of the Year award recipients, including Mr. Richard Merryman, Carol Judy and Andrea Williams, He also recognized retirees Joann Lang and Krista McIntyre.
School board member Amy Stever recognized exchange student Guillermo Romo with a certificate of appreciation.
The guest speaker for the evening was Steve Blass, Pittsburgh Pirates broadcaster and World Series pitcher.
The Elks would like to thank their corporate sponsors, including DelGrosso’s Park, M & T Bank, American Eagle Papers, New Pig and The Hancock Group.
Editor’s note: Photos of the Elks Banquet Award Recipients appear on page 1 – 2 of today’s Daily Herald.