Tyrone wrestlers go 2-3 at Juniata Duals

The Tyrone Golden Eagle wrestling team participated in the Juniata Duals over the past weekend.
Encountering some tough competition, the Eagles of head coach Blair Packer went 2-3, defeating Selinsgrove 66-12 and fellow District 6 foe Southern Huntingdon 47-21, while falling to Towanda 42-27, West Perry 39-22 and Central Dauphin East 40-36.
Towanda jumped out in front 25-6 after the first seven weight classes had been wrestled on the way to a solid victory in the opening match for Tyrone. Only T. J. Albright’s pin of Kyle Leyedal at 125, kept Towanda from a sweep to begin the dual.
Pins by Jake Smerekar (152) and Justin Schopp (171) sandwiched around a decision by Shayne Tate (12-9) gave the Eagles a bit of momentum, but three more Towanda wins wiped out any hope for a comeback, although A. J. Schopp closed out the match with a fall to set the final score.
In the dual against West Perry, Albright and Anthony Romano produced back-to-back pins at 125, and 130, for a 12-3 lead, but West Perry won six of the first nine matches to take a 22-15 advantage after the 171-pound weight class.
Tyrone temporarily moved back in front 15-13 at 152, when Smerekar won an 8-4 decision over Eli Keil, but a 3-2 decision by Donnie Conrad at 189, an 18-4 major decision by A. J. Schopp at 103, were the only Tyrone winners after that weight.
In match number 3, Tyrone rode seven pins and three forfeits to a big victory over Selinsgrove. Albright, Justin Schopp, Conrad, Brady Williams (7-8), A. J. Schopp, Donnie Hunter and Tyler Poorman (5-12) all pinned their opponents, and Romano, Cody Weaver, and J. P. VanAllman received forfeits.
Against Central Dauphin East, finished strong with pins from Albright and Romano, but still fell four points short in the team score. Cody Weaver opened the dual with a fall and J. P. VanAllman followed with a 6-4 decision, but two pins and a tech fall pushed the lead to CD East 17-9. Tyrone rallied on a pin by Justin Schopp and decision by Conrad to retake the lead 19-17. But CD East closed their scoring with three pins and a tech fall to get the extra bonus points they needed to hang on for the win.
Finally in the last match wrestled, the Eagles opened with a win by VanAllman, before Southern Huntingdon responded with four straight wins to jump out to a 13-3 lead. Conrad got a pin, and Williams won by injury default to give Tyrone a 15-13 advantage.
The two schools traded six point wins in the next four weight classes, with A. J. Schopp winning by forfeit and Hunter (4-11) decking Clay Patterson to keep the Golden Eagles up by two team points. Then Tyrone put the dual out of reach, finishing out the match with a fall by Albright, 12-3 major decision by Romano and win by forfeit for Cody Weaver (6-7).
A. J. Schopp (21-1) and T. J. Albright (16-5) each won all five of their matches for the Eagles, while Romano (6-8) and Donnie Conrad (13-6) both were 4-1 at the Duals. Cody Weaver (6-7), J. P. VanAllman (7-9), Jacob Smerekar (13-6) and Justin Schopp (14-7) all went 3-2.
Towanda 42 Tyrone 27
112 Dustin Login (TO) maj. Donnie Hunter 14-6
119 Caleb Sencer (TO) pinned Tyler Poorman 2:28
125 T.J. Albright (T) pinned Kyle Leyedal 5:21
130 Justin Sluyter (TO) dec. Anthony Romano 4-3
135 Caleb Vanderpool (TO) maj. Cody Weaver 16-2
140 Justin Cori (TO) maj. JP VanAllman 12-3
145 Mike Maurer (TO) tech fall Jeremy Barlett 15-0, 3:25
152 Jake Smerekar (T) pinned Eathon Sexton 5:49
160 Shayne Tate (T) dec. 5-4 Jake Variphere 5-4 OT
171 Justin Schopp (T) pinned Ron Chesla 1:25
189 Jesse Chesla (TO) maj. Donnie Conrad 18-7
215 Dustin Rockwell (TO) pinned Brady Williams 1:12
285 Josh Vanderpool (TO) Dustin Weaver 1:14
103 A. J. Schopp (T) pinned Tyler Bennett 2:36

West Perry 39 Tyrone 22
119 Sam Hernandez (WP) dec. Tyler Poorman 8-1
125 T.J. Albright (T) pinned Brett Sheelley 2:31
130 Anthony Romano (T) pinned Jake Adams 3:54
135 Mike Caldwell (WP) dec. Cody Weaver 9-6
140 Adam Hanooch (WP) maj. JP VanAllman 9-1
145 Mason Baughman (WP) dec. Jeremy Barlett 7-6
152 Jake Smerekar (T) dec. Eli Keil 8-4
160 Jordan Divens (WP) dec. Shayne Tate 7-2
171 Donavan Schlessa (WP) pinned Justin Schopp 0:55
189 Donnie Conrad (T) dec. Lonnie Etler 3-2
215 Chaz Sheaffer (WP) tech fall Brady Williams 17-2, 3:12
285 Gavin Kennedy (WP) pinned Brandon Oswalt 1:03
103 A. J. Schopp (T) maj. Mustafa Smith 18-4
112 Brandon Palahovic (WP) pinned Donnie Hunter 1:16
Tyrone 66 Selinsgrove 12
125 T.J. Albright (T) pinned 1:01 Doug Curatola 1:01
130 Anthony Romano (T) won by forfeit
135 Cody Weaver (T) won by forfeit
140 JP VanAllman (T) won by forfeit
145 Aaron Ernst (S) pinned Jeremy Barlett 1:55
152 Jake Smerekar (T) dec. Steve Kratzer 7-4
160 Shayne Tate (T) dec. Tim Walls 4-3
171 Justin Schopp (T) pinned Spencer Myers 0:29
189 Donnie Conrad (T) pinned Tyler Arcuri 0:49
215 Brady Williams (T) pinned Jake Fultz 3:41
285 Eric Willon (S) pinned Dustin Weaver 1:27
103 A. J. Schopp (T) pinned Shuntil Snyder 5:03
112 Donnie Hunter (T) pinned Brian Gower 0:56
119 Tyler Poorman (T) pinned Tyler Herb 5:57
Central Dauphin East 40 Tyrone 36
135 Cody Weaver (T) pinned Abdoul Fofana 1:54
140 JP VanAllman (T) dec. Grant Leonard 6-4
145 Kyle Eason (CDE) pinned Jeremy Barlett 2:56
152 Christian Mory (CDE) tech fall Jake Smerekar 16-1, 5:54
160 Kevin Sunderland (CDE) pinned Shayne Tate 1:26
171 Justin Schopp (T) pinned Ryan Rexrode 0:31
189 Donnie Conrad (T) dec. Patrick Avery 5-0
215 Kenny Terry (CDE) pinned Brady Williams 4:32
285 Daniel Nickoli (CDE) pinned Brandon Oswalt 1:19
103 A. J. Schopp (T) pinned Justin Shelton 1:47
112 Tyrus Nickoli (CDE) tech fall Donnie Hunter 20-4, 5:24
119 Travis Shade (CDE) pinned Tyler Poorman 0:42
125 T.J. Albright (T) pinned Jared Rhodes 1:20
130 Anthony Romano (T) pinned Chris Barber 0:54

Tyrone 47 Southern Huntingdon 21
140 JP VanAllman (T) dec. Allen Seibert 8-4
145 Caleb Price (SH) maj. Jeremy Barlett 9-1
152 Jason Foor (SH) dec. Jake Smerekar 10-3
160 Eli Snyder (SH) dec. Shayne Tate 9-8
171 Tyler Mansberger (SH) dec. Justin Schopp 4-2
189 Donnie Conrad (T) pinned Josh Welsh 2:57
215 Brady Williams (T) won inj. def. 2:46 Ryan Robinson 2:46
285 Devin Miller (SH) pinned Dustin Weaver 1:17
103 A. J. Schopp (T)) won by forfeit
112 Donnie Hunter (T) pinned Clay Patterson 4:55
119 Cody Myers (SH) pinned Tyler Poorman 1:07
125 T.J. Albright (T) pinned Chris Nagel 1:00
130 Anthony Romano (T) maj. Zach Matthews 12-3
135 Cody Weaver (T) won by forfeit