TACO holds annual Charter Night

The presentation of a number of awards marked the 16th Charter Night celebration of Tyrone Area Community Organization.
The annual event, held at the Warriors Mark-Franklin Fire Hall, included a stuffed pork chop dinner with all the trimmings. The invocation was given by Vice President, David Kaup.
Awards of $500 each were presented to five Tyrone Area High School seniors.
The John Eschbach Scholarship Award was awarded to Matthew Grimm. In presenting the award, Buddy Daughenbaugh said Matthew has been accepted at Penn State.
Tim Kirkpatrick presented Jordan Campbell with his scholarship award. Jordan\’s GPA is 4.11 and he is ranked 18 of 171 students. His goal is to attend Juniata College and major in Psychology. Presently, Jordan is enrolled in four college classes. He is active in his youth group, does volunteer work at a local rehab center for troubled teens, and still maintains a challenging academic schedule. Jordan eventually would like to become a psychiatrist.
Erica Rumberger was presented her award from Mary Ellen Hoover. Erica is presently taking two college courses and works for American Eagle Paper Mill as an intern. She has been accepted at Penn State Altoona and plans to major in psychology and minor in criminal justice.
Katie Schreckengost received her award from Misty Snyder. Katie has a GPA of 4.0 and is ranked 25 in her class. She plans on majoring in physical therapy and has a long time goal to work as a doctor in a physical therapy facility. Katie has been accepted at Lock Haven University. Katie is taking full responsibility for her college education.
Ruth Brower presented Casey Miller with her award. Casey has excelled in the arts. Raised by her grandmother, Casey has been accepted at Indiana University of Pennsylvania where she plans to major in Art.
TACO honored one of its own when President Ruth Brower presented a surprised Dave Kaup with a special award in recognition for his service to God, Family and Country. Among a variety of activity, Dave has hosted a Christian Music program over the local radio station WTRN for a number of years.
Louise Sweitzer was recipient of the Boss of the Year Award, presented by Bob Maser. Louise and her late husband, Howard, opened the East End Pizza shop here some fifty years ago. At age 83, Louise is still found working behind the counter. Louise\’s family and all the employees of the shop were in attendance.
Paul Misko, custodian at the Tyrone National Guard Armory, was recognized for his untiring effort in making TACO\’s spaghetti supper fund raiser such a success. He was recipient of the Betty F. Simpson Distinguished Service award.
The final award for the evening went to Father Joseph Orr of Saint Matthew Roman Catholic Church. The Humanitarian Award was presented by Ann Brower. Brower said a humanitarian is defined as a person who is devoted to the promotion of human welfare and the advancement of social reforms. A few months ago, a horrific act was done that took the life of six-year-old Jared Klein of Tyrone, said Brower. The family was devastated and didn\’t know how they were going to pay for the funeral. Father Orr and St. Matthew\’s Church could not let the family down. The family needed help and that is what they received, Brower added. Father Orr, along with the church, generously donated all the money needed to pay for Jared\’s funeral.
\”For this generous act of kindness and goodwill, we would like to honor Father Orr at this time with the Humanitarian Award,\” concluded Brower.
As Father Orr was involved with a Boy Scout event, Aye Tepsic and Marty Rhodes were in attendance to accept the honors.
Officers heading TACO include Ruth Brower, president; Dave Kaup, vice president; Ann Brower, secretary; Jeanne Price, treasurer; and directors Bob Grager and Tim Kirkpatrick.