Tyrone wrestlers fall to Rams despite early winning streak

Each team had a win streak in the Tyrone/Penns Valley wrestling match at Spring Mills, on Thursday night. The Golden Eagles won the first four weight classes of the evening to hold an 18-0 lead. Penns Valley however, had the streak that mattered most, winning the final five matches to rally from a 30-15 deficit to take a 39-30 dual meet win.
Lucas Stover broke through for the Rams to get Penns Valley on the scoreboard with a 7-4 triumph over Anthony Romano at 125, after Brandon Oswalt (275), Cody Weaver (103), T. J. Albright (112), and Robert Waite (119) had given the Eagles an 18-0 lead.
Oswalt (13-17) began with a takedown for the only scoring in the first period against Ethan Covalt at heavyweight, then added an escape and penalty point in each of the final two periods for his 6-1 victory to begin the dual meet.
Back to the top of the Eagles lineup, the usual suspects, Cody Weaver (103), T. J. Albright (112) and Robert Waite (119) all continued fine seasons with wins to give Tyrone their early 18-0 lead.
Weaver (21-11) trailed Josh Manning 3-0 after two periods, but scored a takedown and put Manning on his back for three nearfall points and a 5-3 triumph. Albright (23-3, with 93 career wins) went out to a quick 5-0 lead over Kelly Strouse on a takedown and back points, before pinning him in 3:16, and Waite (31-4) finished the run with a quick fall over Matt Brooker in 1:39, the quickest of the seven falls the two teams would accumulate.
Following the win by Stover, Eagle senior Josh Hunter (6-15) got his second straight win and second straight pin by decking Philip Wise in 5:35. The only scoring in the match prior to the pin, was a first-period takedown by Hunter. With Tyrone up 24-3 after the 130-pound bout, the Eagles would get only one more win through the final eight weight classes, and that was a forfeit win by Sam McCloskey (25-6) at 145.
Tyler Myers picked up a forfeit at 135, for Penns Valley to get the Rams going. Matt Orndorf pinned J. P. VanAllman (11-18) in 1:42 at 140. Ty Corl pinned Cody Reese (1-10) in 1:57 at 152. Trevor Benner decked Justin Schopp (19-13) to deny the Tyrone junior his 20th win and stop a four-match personal win streak, at 160. Luke Berkey used two back points in the second period to spell the difference in a 4-2 decision over James Updike (13-15), after the two wrestlers were tied 2-2 after one stanza, at 171. Donnie Conrad (11-11) could manage just a second-period escape in a 4-1 loss to Kane Bjalme at 189. Nate Andrews pinned Johnny Miller (14-14) in 2:33, at 215 to close out the match.
The Tyrone junior high continued their winning ways, piling up a 77-19 won over the Penns Valley junior high wrestlers to improve their record to 10-1.
Josh Graham (155), Ronnie Garbinski (90), A. J. Schopp (95), Robby Sellers (100), and Josh Miller (122) pinned their opponents. Cody Smith (165), Devon Miller (185), Bryan Diehl (210), Mark McMonagle (75), Chase Weaver (80), and Andrew Warrender (85) won by forfeit. Tyler Poorman (110) and Jeremy Miller (115) won by major decision and Jeremy Barlett won by regular decision.
Tyrone will travel to Philipsburg-Osceola, weather permitting on Saturday to conclude their dual seasons. The junior high team will wrestle at 12 noon, while the varsity will wrestle the Mounties at 7 p.m.
Penns Valley 39 Tyrone 30
275 – Brandon Oswalt (T) dec, Ethan Covalt 6-1
103 – Cody Weaver (T) dec. Josh Manning 5-3
112 – T. J. Albright (T) pinned Kelly Strouse 3:16
119 – Robert Waite (T) pinned Matt Brooker 1:34
125 – Lucas Stover (PV) dec. Anthony Romano 7-4
130 – Josh Hunter (T) pinned Philip Wise 5:35
135 – Tyler Myers (PV) won by forfeit
140 – Matt Orndorf (PV) pinned Jon VanAllman 1:42
145 – Sam McCloskey (T) won by forfeit
152 – Ty Corl (PV) pinned Cody Reese 1:57
160 – Trevor Benner (PV) pinned Justin Schopp 3:34
171 – Luke Berkey (PV) dec. James Updike 4-2
189 – Kane Bjalme )PV) dec. Donnie Conrad 4-1
215 – Nathan Andrews (PV) pinned Johnny Miller 2:33
Junior High
Tyrone 77 Penns Valley 19
155 – Josh Graham (T) pinned Elliot Dillon 0:25
165 – Cody Smith (T) won by forfeit
185 – Devon Miller (T) won by forfeit
210 – Bryan Diehl (T) won by forfeit
250 – J. Smith (PV) won by forfeit
75 – Mark McMonagle (T) won by forfeit
80 – Chase Weaver (T) won by forfeit
85 – Andrew Warrender (T) won by forfeit
90 – Ronnie Garbinski (T) pinned Jacob Bierly 2:02
95 – A. J. Schopp (T) pinned Drew Zettle 2:06
100 – Robby Sellers (T) pinned Bayletts 4:25
105 – Patrick Whitehill (PV) maj. dec. Ben Smerekar 13-0
110 – Tyler Poorman (T) maj. dec. Orry Corman 15-4
115 – Jeremy Miller (T) maj. dec. Fred Dawson 8-0
122 – Josh Miller (T) pinned Nathan Besecker 4:01
130 – Jeremy Barlett (T) dec. Tom Sweeley 4-2
138 – Kody Bjalme (PV) pinned Kris Decker 1:12
145 – Corry Sweeley )PV) dec. Jordan Berry 5-2.