Indian Valley dominates Golden Eagle wrestlers

The Tyrone wrestling team opened their wrestling season against a very tough and determined Indian Valley squad that was fresh from a second place finish at the prestigious Top Hat Tournament with five individual champions.
Wrestling in the Tyrone Area High School gym, senior Heath Walk (1-0) got the Golden Eagles of to a fast start with an 11-3 major decision over Skyler Romig (5-3). Walk toted up five takedowns, including four in the third period for his triumph, while yielding just three escapes.
Indian Valley took over the match with wins in the next nine weight classes to jump into a 45-4 lead. Walk registered five takedowns in his opening-match win, but the Warriors then grabbed a 10-0 advantage in takedowns over those nine straight wins.
Finally, Sam McCloskey (145) and Shayne Tate (152) broke through the Indian Valley run to post victories.
First, McCloskey used a late third-period reversal and three back points to edge Jeremiah Wills 9-8, then Tate jumped out in front of David Vallimont 9-2 after the first period before wrapping up the fall at the 2:24 mark.
McCloskey (1-0) scored the first takedown in his match, but Will escaped and countered with a takedown of his own for a 3-2 lead after one period, and then turned the Tyrone senior for three back points. McCloskey reversed his foe at the end of the second period to slice the deficit to 6-4. Will added a reversal in the third period, before McCloskey hit his five-point move and held Will down for the final seconds and the win.
Tate (1-0) took Vallimont down, let him up and took him down again and added three nearfall points for a quick 7-1 lead, then let Vallimont up again and registered his third takedown of the opening period. In the second period, Tate started from the bottom, but wasted little time in getting the reversal and showing Vallimont the lights in 2:24.
The highlights in between were few and far between for Tyrone as the Golden Eagle got hammered for the first time in quite a while. Indian Valley won the big ones, getting pins from Naim Shartzer over Donnie Conrad (0-1) in 1:04 at 215, Nate Knepp over Brandon Oswalt (0-1) in 1:16 at 275, Adam Will over Anthony Romano (0-1) in 1:30 at 125, Randy Rauch over John Markel (0-10) in 1:14 at 140, and Adam Picketts over Justin Schopp (0-1) in 4:29 at 160. And the Warriors also took the close ones, with Chad Frankhouser riding a takedown at the buzzer ending the first period for a 3-1 decision over Robert Waite (0-1), at 119, and Devin Fisher notching a middle stanza nearfall to decision Jon VanAllman (0-1) 4-0 at 135. Throw in a forfeit to returning PIAA fourth place winner and number two-ranked 103-pounder in the state Nic Bedelyon, a 15-0 tech fall by Tyler Bedelyon over Cody Weaver (0-1) at 112 and major decisions by Mike Armstrong 14-6 over Josh Hunter (0-1) at 130, and Nate Reese 15-2 over James Updike (0-1) to conclude the dual meet at 171.
Shartzer, Knepp, N. Bedelyon, A. Will and Picketts all Top Hat champs, remained undefeated for Indian Valley.
Not since the 1999-2000 season has Tyrone suffered such a loss, when in back-to-back matches State College dominated 59-6 and Bellefonte put a 55-12 loss on the locals.
Give credit to a strong Indian Valley team that from start to finish has a lineup that will accomplish much this year, but consider that Indian Valley has wrestled in a tough tournament and also has a dual meet under their belts.
Tyrone has wrestled only each other in practice and will definitely regroup under head coach Blair Packer and come out fighting for the rest of the season.
“We did expect more. We felt like we have had good practices and preparation for this,” explained Packer. “I know they have a decent team. Indian Valley has a balanced lineup, but I didn’t expect us to come out this far down on the score. This is our first match and they had the Top Hat where they finished second and a dual match against Mifflinburg. That gives them a little bit of a head start on us. We are kind of caught between a rock and hard spot revamping our schedule with football players getting started late and it is just something you have to deal with.”
The Tyrone junior high opened with a 51-42 victory over the Indian Valley junior high.
Bryan Diehl (210), A. J. Schopp (90), Ronnie Garbinsky (95) and Issac Walk (110) won by fall for the Little Eagles. Josh Graham (165), Chase Weaver (85) and Josh Miller (122) won by major decision, Doug Rudy (105) shut out his opponent 7-0 and Mark McMonagle (80) and Jeremy Barlett (138) won by forfeit
Indian Valley 55 Tyrone 13
189 – Heath Walk (T) maj. dec. Skyler Romig 11-3
215 – Naim Shartzer (IV) pinned Donnie Conrad 1:04
275 – Nate Knepp (IV) pinned Brandon Oswalt 1:16
103 – Nic Bedelyon (IV) won by forfeit
112 – Tyler Bedelyon (IV) tech fall Cody Weaver 15-0, 5:30
119 – Chad Frankhouser (IV) dec. Robert Waite 3-1
125 – Adam Will (IV) pinned Anthony Romano 1:30
130 – Mike Armstrong (IV) maj. dec. Josh Hunter 14-6
135 – Devin Fisher (IV) dec. Jon VanAllman 4-0
140 – Randy Rauch (IV) pinned John Markel 1:14
145 – Sam McCloskey (T) dec. Jeremiah Will 9-8
152 – Shayne Tate (T) pinned David Vallimont 2:24
160 – Adam Picketts (IV) pinned Justin Schopp 4:29
171 – Nate Reese (IV) maj. dec. James Updike 15-2
103 – Noah Loht (IV) pinned Donnie Hunter 1:50
135 – Chase Kuhns (IV) dec. Josh Mills 6-1
140 – Nick Myers (IV) dec. Marvin Williams 8-2
145 – Curtis Rattanavongsa (IV) dec. Eric Sweet
189 – Brady Williams (T) dec. Matt Kreider 6-0
215 – Trent Russler (IV) maj. dec. John Miller 10-0
275 – Buddy Stotler (T) dec. Zack Anderson 5-0
Junior High
Tyrone 51 Indian Valley 42
155 – Zach Knepp (IV) pinned Cody Smith 2:56
165 – Josh Graham (T) maj. dec. Ian Lindsey 13-1
185 – Ty Kline (IV) won by forfeit
210 – Bryan Diehl (T) pinned Jared Kreider 4:27
250 – Nathan Smitherman (IV won by forfeit
75 – Kaleb Loht (IV) pinned Tyler Osterhout 3:56
80 – Mark McMonagle (T) won by forfeit
85 – Chase Weaver (T) maj. dec. Jake Rendel 9-1
90 – A. J. Schopp (T) pinned Chris Frankhouser 0:30
95 – Ronnie Garbinsky (T) pinned Andrew Patizenese 0:55
100 – Ryan Shawver (IV) dec. Jimmy Weston 9-8
105 – Doug Rudy (T) dec. Garrett Neff 7-0
110 – Issac Walk (T) pinned Nicholas Grimm 1:09
115 – Cory Battista (IV) pinned Jeremy Miller 4:17
122 – Josh Miller (T) maj. dec. Joe Short 10-0
138 – Jeremy Barlett (T) won by forfeit
145 – Ethan Knepp (IV) dec. Jordan Berry 4-2