Albemarle Corporation receives two 2005 PCIC Excellence Awards

Albemarle Corporation, located in Tyrone recently received two awards for 2005 from the Pennsylvania Chemical Industry Council, one for Health and Safety excellence and one for Environmental excellence.
For the Health and Safety Excellence Award, Albemarle Corporation was recognized for instituting an annual “Safety Shut Down Day”, where the plant is idled and all employees attend safety seminars, including off-job seminars on motor vehicle safety. Also, the facility established the position of Process Safety Advisor to address all aspects of Process Safety Management plus an Industrial Hygienist and IH Intern were assigned to the site at the corporate level. Additionally, Albemarle communicates health and safety improvements through monthly Safety Focus meetings and on Safety Shut Down Day. These improvements have resulted in zero worker injuries and lost worker days in the past year.
Albemarle Corporation was also recognized with the 2005 Environmental Excellence Award for its Environmental programs. Some of the initiatives include developing a catalyst/hydrogen peroxide treatment process, which has reduced off-site shipments by 23 tank trucks, saved $16,975 in disposal costs and decreased fuel usage. Also, Albemarle was the first Pennsylvania Company to be certified to the ISO 14001 standard in April of 1996, and maintains that certification though semi-annual audits. Albemarle has communicated environmental improvements through their Community Advisory Council, a council of local residents, weekly Kiwanis meetings and in-school programs.
The PCIC Excellence Awards were initiated in 2005 to recognize PCIC members who have strived to improve their communities through environmental improvements, and their workforce through health and safety programs. Submissions were scored on their creativity, communication, commitment and effectiveness. Through a blind review, three finalists were selected by the PCIC Board of Directors and sent to an independent panel of judges composed of experts from the industry, academia and government for final judging.