Tanyhill makes it two in a row at Hummingbird Speedway

Reynoldsville (July 23)—For the second straight week Levi Ardery of West Decatur and Dwayne Taneyhill, Jr. of Bellwood claimed victory in their respective divisions at Hummingbird Speedway. Others picking up wins on Clontz Tire Service night included Chris Farrell of Clearfield, Alan Barnett of Philipsburg, and Paul Kot of DuBois.
The 10-lap front wheel drive four-cylinders main closed the evening’s program with Doug Surra and Chuck Erskine showing the way to the green. Surra took the early lead before a red flag flew on lap 1 as Terry Borden clipped tire in two four and flipped his car. Borden was uninjured, but unable to continue. Surra was able to stretch his lead on the restart with Taneyhill working his way to the front. As the laps wore down Taneyhill closed the gap on Surra. The final lap saw Surra and Taneyhill running side by side to the checkered flag. Both cars touched in turn four with Taneyhill able to regain control and drag race Surra to the line for his second straight win. Brett Fields and Mark Segerberg won the heats.
The Prontock Beer Distributing four-cylinders led off the feature action with Nick and Ken Erskine making up the starting front row. After a complete restart, Nick Erskine grabbed the early lead in the 15-lapper with Barnett close beside. Two four-car battles highlighted the middle part of the race with Barnett holding the lead at the midway point. The field was bunched together one last time on lap 9, but Barnett got a great restart at the drop of the green flag and opened up a sizable lead with a handful of laps to go. Barnett wouldn’t be denied as he cruised to his second win of the year. Barnett, Ken Erskine, and Kyle Parson won the heats. Fuzzy Fields and Brian Fingado led the field of Murray Ford street stocks onto the racing surface for their 20-lap main. Fields got the early jump on the field and was stretching out his lead with Fingado, Dom Surra, and Sammy Swauger battling for second. A number of cautions slowed the race before the midway point with Ardery working the inside line on Fields. Ardery took over the top spot on lap 10 with Fields, Swauger, Bob Rosman, and Fingado completing the top five. Late in the race Scott Alvetro and Bob Connor worked their way by Fields for position and tried to track down Ardery. A late caution gave Alvetro one last shot at Ardery, but Ardery was strong as he went on for his second straight win and third of the season. Ardery, Alvetro, and Surra claimed the heat race wins.
The 25-lap Brookville Wood Products limited late model feature was next out with Bob McMillen and Dwayne Brooks leading the way. McMillen took the early lead with Jason Witherite and Brooks looking to make the pass for the lead. Brooks worked the inside line as took over the top spot on lap 5. Brooks led through the midway point with Farrell, Witherite, Eric Moore, and McMillen keeping the pressure on. Farrell found the inside line to his liking as he overtook Brooks for the lead on lap 17. Farrell was able to pull away from the field on the races final restart, and go on to score his third win of the year. Brooks, Dave Shagla, Jr., and Witherite copped the heats.
Kot and Dustin Michuck led the field of Community First Bank novices onto the speedway for their 15-lap feature. Kot took the early, and stretched out his advantage as Michuck and Bill Huntington battled for second. Kot maintained his lead halfway through with Michuck, Kyle Shannon, Matt Heindl, and Bob Alcorn trying to close the gap. Shannon started to close the gap and looked to take the top spot, but a caution flag flew on lap 11 giving the lead back to Kot. Kot and Shannon battled it out for the final four laps with Kot holding Shannon off to take his speedway leading fourth win. Kot and Michuck won the heats.
SPEEDWAY NOTES: 94 were in the pits this evening including 19 limited lates, 20 street stocks, 20 four-cylinders, 17 novices, and 18 front wheel drive four-cylinders. Saturday will be fan appreciation/autograph night at the track. All fans will be able to go trackside at intermission to meet and greet their favorite drivers. Gates open at 4:30 pm with racing at 7. For more information call the track office at 653-8400 or visit the track’s website at .
Brookville Wood Products Limited Late Models:
1. Chris Farrell, Clearfield; 2. Eric Moore, Frenchville; 3. Dwayne Taneyhill, Bellwood; 4. Dwayne Brooks, Falls Creek; 5. Bob McMillen, St. Marys; 6. Shawn Mogle, Marion Center; 7. Denny Lindemuth, Hazen; 8. Kevin Lindemuth, Hazen; 9. Dave Shagla, Jr., Sugar Grove; 10. Curtis Lias, Smicksburg; 11. Jason Witherite, Luthersburg; 12. Mark Kelly, McKees Rocks; 13. Bill Burns, Johnstown; 14. Jason McCullough, Derry; 15. Luke Hoffner, Turbotville; 16. John Reed, Reynoldsville; 17. Loren Sallack, Johnsonburg; 18. Adam Nixon, Grampian; 19. Donnie Connor, Reynoldsville
Front Wheel Drive Four-Cylinders:
1. Dwayne Taneyhill, Jr., Bellwood; 2. Doug Surra, Kersey; 3. Jimmy Haag, DuBois; 4. Mark Segerberg, DuBois; 5. Chuck Erskine, Clearfield; 6. Bob Metz, Julian; 7. Keith Kopenhaver, Brockway; 8. Dustin Fields, Brockport; 9. Brett Fields, Brockport; 10. John Spellen, Reynoldsville; 11. Kevin Thomas, Luthersburg; 12. Joe Nelson, DuBois; 13. Jordan Anthony, Reynoldsville; 14. Jessica Brooks, Falls Creek; 15. John Gilbert, Brockway; 16. Terry Borden, Reynoldsville DNS: Bobby Battaglia & Russ Walls