Allegheny Chorale to present annual spring concerts in Tyrone and Huntingdon

The Allegheny Chorale, a group comprised of singers from Tyrone, Bellwood, Huntingdon and Altoona will present annual spring concerts at the Stone Church of the Brethren in Huntingdon on May 2 at 7 p.m. and at the First Presbyterian Church in Tyrone on May 4 at 7 p.m.
The public is welcome to come and enjoy an evening of music with the Chorale. There is no charge for admission.
Currently, the group’s director is Laura M. Harris, who is the Tyrone Area Middle School choral director and the music director for Saint Matthew Catholic Church. Harris began directing the Chorale in 1990.
The Chorale’s first season was 1985-86, and its 20th anniversary is the 2004-05 season. Harris is also celebrating her 15th anniversary as director during this time.
Dr. Joseph W. Figg, who was the director of vocal and choral activities at Juniata College, directed the Chorale from 1985 until 1990.
The Chorale’s current musical accompanist is Anna Myers of Tyrone. Other Chorale accompanists over the years have been Joan Smith, Nora Figg and Sonya DeArmitt. The Chorale has been accompanied by piano, organ, brass ensembles, string ensembles, harp and bell choirs as well.
The group prepares two concert programs each year, one for December and another for May. Performances take place in Huntingdon and Tyrone. The Chorale has always been open to anyone who loves to sing, and there are no auditions.
In addition to its annual Tyrone and Huntingdon concerts, the Chorale has performed with the Altoona Symphony and at the Hollidaysburg Presbyterian Church. They also perform portions of concerts for the residents at Garvey Manor and Valley View.
Music for the Chorale is selected by a committee of Chorale members. Members of the first music committees included Georgia Roberts, Donna Ray, Margaret Sheridan, Joan Smith and Laura Harris.
The group was re-organized in 1985 by Steve Stoner, Georgia Roberts, Donna Ray and Robert Dawson. The first board of directors included Dawson, Ray, Roberts, Stoner, Reverend Norman Huff, George Stevens Jr., and Ellen Wallace. The first board of trustees included Deborah Hiller, R. Gerald Roberts and Margaret Sheridan.
The current board of directors for the Chorale includes: Leslie Ieraci, Andy Ellenberger, Ralph Harris, Joyce Kobuck, Roselyn Laird, Nancy Irvin, Pam Swope and Nancy Robinson. Deb Ellenberger is the board’s secretary.