Categories
News

A rich history of Trinity Episcopal Church of Tyrone

A rich history accompanies Trinity Episcopal Church of Tyrone into this holiday season.
Reverend Canon Ralph T. Wolfgang who served as the diocese historian, wrote a history of Trinity Episcopal Church that includes the beginnings of the parish.
According to Wolfgang, the start of the parish began in 1885 when a group of Episcopalians wanted to form a congregation in Tyrone. Reverend George Hall, rector of St. John’s in Huntingdon, visited Tyrone each Sunday to conduct a service of evening prayer.
The first service was conducted on the first Sunday in June of 1885 in the Tyrone Area YMCA. The church grew and moved to Odd Fellows Hall.
Wolfgang then wrote that in 1890, “They spent $1,800 for a building lot on Washington Avenue near Ninth Street, on which they hoped to build a church. In 1894, a Pennsylvania Railroad architect drew the plans at no charge. Other railroad officials were able to secure materials for building at a greatly reduced cost.
“Richard Beaston, purchasing agent for the Paper Mill, secured and donated wood for the interior and sent men to furnish the labor. The church was completed at a cost of $3,200.”
The gothic style of the church and natural wood, much of which came from old Pennsylvania Railroad box cars gave the church a unique look all its own.
The church was officially opened on March 15, 1895. In 1900, the basement was dug out and finished to make space for Sunday School and social activities. A Mitmer pipe organ was purchased in 1905 to also add to the church.
According to Wolfgang, the church advanced after 1917 when the Reverend Frank T. Cady was rector. At this time, George C. Wilson, donated money for the building of a parish hall at the back of the church in memory of his mother.
Also, an altar made of Indiana limestone was installed and a stained glass window was placed above it, gifts of the Troutwine family. Located at the pinnacle is another stained glass window, designed and donated by artist, Andrew Moore.
October of 1985 marked the Centennial Celebration of the Trinity Episcopal Church. During this special time, parish members discussed parish history and celebrated with a dinner and program.
Now in December of 2003, Trinity Episcopal Church is still going strong, with approximately 98 baptized members on record.
Reverend Thomazine Shanahan is the current rector, and Reverend Vance Clark serves as rector ameritus.
Service time is scheduled for 11 a.m. every Sunday. All are invited to partake in communion, and individuals do not need to be a church member to receive communion.
There is also a parish hall that is used for church functions, luncheons and other gatherings. It holds approximately 75 people. If anyone is interested in reserving the parish hall, contact 944-5995.
Upcoming events for Trinity Episcopal Church include participation in The Tour of Churches on December 21 and Christmas Eve service, starting at 7 p.m.