Envirothon winners

The Blair County Envirothon was held this past April 24 at Fort Roberdeau Historic Site in Sinking Valley. The event is open to five-member teams from all Blair County high schools. This year, there were 13 teams participating from seven area schools, including Tyrone, Bellwood-Antis, Altoona, Central, Claysburg-Kimmel, Greater Altoona Career and Technology Center and Williamsburg. The students travel to five different testing stations for topics concerning forestry, aquatics, wildlife, soils and the current issue for 2003 Farmland Preservation. Bellwood-Antis’ team, “Down by Three,” pictured at top took third place honors with 362 points. Pictured in middle, from left, is Liam Flynn and Dan Himes. In back are Neil Caldwell, Padraig Flynn and Chris Carrier. First place was captured by Central Team No. 2, pictured at bottom, with 364 points. In front is Jarred Smith and Ben Baker. In back are Derek Bassler, Albert Burnham and Scott Rhodes. Second place was awarded to Central Team No. 1, pictured above center, with 363 points. In front are Andy Berkheimer and Lizzy Zellner. In back are Corey Hammaker, Jason Nunamaker and Sarah Smith. This was the closest competition in the 17-year history of the Blair County Envirothon. Along with the Conservation District, the event is co-sponsored by the Altoona Kiwanis Club, Juniata Valley Audubon Society and the Fort Roberdeau Historic Site. (Courtesy photo)