TACO honors award winners at banquet

Some $2,100 in awards were presented to five TAHS seniors Saturday as Tyrone Area Community Organization (TACO) held its13th annual Charter Night at the Warriors Mark-Franklin Volunteer Fire Company social hall.
The group also honored was Leo Warner, recipient of the Betty F. Simpson Distinguished Service Award presented by Cary Simpson. Leo had to close the doors of his Radio-TV store in the downtown after serving the area for 46 years because of health reasons. Throughout the years Leo had been a faithful supporter to TACO’s Radio Auction fundraiser as well as a dedicated businessman and friend to all. Leo was accompanied by his wife Jean and other family members.
The John Eschbach Scholarship awards were presented to:
• Jonathon W. Sellers was recipient of a $300 scholarship presented by Bob Maser. Sellers plans to attend Williamson Trade School in the Machine Tool Technology program:
• Angel Diehl was presented a $300 scholarship by Ruth Brower. Diehl plans to attend Mount Aloysius College majoring in radiology;
• Ryan Clark was recipient of a $500 scholarship presented by Buddy Daughenbaugh. Clark plans to attend the College of Agriculture Sciences at Penn State University;
• Misty Snyder was awarded a $500 scholarship presented by Chrsti Carper. Carper plans to attend Penn State Altoona where she will major in nursing;
• Jennifer Woomer was awarded a $500 scholarship from Jeannie Price. Diehl will be attending AMU in Arizona where she plans to acquire a B.S. in criminal science.