Ten Blue Devils selected to ICC Football All-Star squad

Bellwood-Antis wasn’t able to accomplish all of their goals this season on the football field. However, it wasn’t because of a great lack of talent. That fact was shown Monday afternoon at the annual ICC banquet held at the Lakemont Casino, when 10 Blue Devils were named to the Inter-County Conference Division I All-Star team.
In 2001, Bellwood-Antis turned in their second straight 11-1 overall mark with two 9-0 regular season and dominated the All-ICC Team with a total of 18 picks. In 2002, the Blue Devils slowed down to 8-2, still the second best overall record bettered only by Bishop Guilfoyle’s 11-1.
Bellwood-Antis placed five players on the Offensive Team, four on the Defensive squad and added one of the three Special Teams selections as well.
Senior tailbacks Adam Plummer (851 yards and 10 TDs) and Cory Daly (572 yards and 12 TDs), who between them rushed for 1,420 yards and 22 touchdowns were selected to the offense at running back, Ryan McCartney, who led the Blue Devils in catches and receiving yards was the tight end, and Josh Rosella and Eric Brubaker were chosen for the offensive line.
On the Defensive unit, Bret McCartney was picked as a down lineman, Matt Plummer was selected at defensive end, Ryan Myers at linebacker and Dan Houser, who had five pass interceptions in the first four games, before opponents stopped throwing in his direction, was picked as a defensive back.
Dan Graham was chosen on special teams as the place kicker. Graham kicked three field goals in 2002 to improve his school record career total to seven and missed just one of 30 PAT kicks.
Bellwood-Antis didn’t win the division in 2002, that honor went to Bishop Guilfoyle, but the Blue Devils placed 10 men on the first team to nine for BG. Penns Valley had seven all-stars, Chestnut Ridge had five and Mount Union four. There was only one All-Star team picked plus an Honorable mention list. Bellwood-Antis receiver Damion Miller was the Blue Devil selected to the HM list.
Joining the Blue Devils on the Offensive Team were Sean Pacifico at quarterback, Josh DeStefano and Matt Georgiana at running backs, Chris Mathis at tight end, Tom Forr wide receiver and Shane McConnell on the line from Bishop Guilfoyle, Josh Kirsch at tight end and Jamie Nagel on the line from Mount Union, and Drew Barefoot at wide receiver and Luke Larson on the line from Chestnut Ridge and Doug Leitch from Penns Valley.
On defense, the Blue Devils were joined by Preston Gaddis and Derek Auman on the line, Jason Wert at defensive end, Kendall Ridenour at linebacker and Mike Wise at defensive back from Penns Valley, J. J. Umbleby on the line, Lemmy Bowser at linebacker and Justin Mock at defensive back from Chestnut Ridge, Trey Rogers at linebacker from Mount Union and Cory Eberhart on the line, Anthony Dente at defensive end and Troy Sharbaugh at defensive back from Bishop Guilfoyle.
Graham was selected as the kicker, Mount Union’s Drew Aurand as the kick returner and Curt Royer of Penns Valley, whose brother punts for Penn State, as the punter.
Ryan McCartney was selected to the First Team as tight end on the 2001 Division All-Star team also, while Dan Graham and Adam Plummer were each selected to the 2001 Honorable mention list and move up to the First Team this year.
In addition to Damion Miller, Brain Barefoot of Chestnut Ridge was Honorable mention at quarterback, Corey Ickes of Ridge at running back, Matt Vonada of Penns Valley, Josh Belcher of Penns Valley, Matt Kantoski of BG and Jim Franks of BG on the offensive line, Trey McClain of Mount Union, Alex McNitt of Penns Valley and Dan Novak of Chestnut Ridge at linebacker, Mark Paule of BG and Adam Hillegas of Chestnut Ridge on the defensive line and Philip Morris of Mount Union and Matt Brubaker of Penns Valley.